International Burns Day

I thought that it

must have been

International Burns Day

with the victims on parade,

their different scars on display.

Marks I had not seen before.

Hair up, showing pigmentless flesh

below the ear.

Flashmark along the arm.

Puckered skin running down the rear

of a shoulder.

Are these the marks

that all lives leave,

everyday little tricks

usually hidden up a sleeve?

Did everyone see?

Or was I gifted to view

a deeper reality?

What use was that to me?

It was a conversation starter,

but not much of one.

I prefer “Do you come here often?”,

its not as scary.

I saw through the cosmetics,

the veneer of confidence

granted by beauty.

I saw everyone’s little horror story.

I averted my eyes

from windows and mirrors.

Would I have to blind myself?

Perhaps I could find a nice lady

to do it for me.

We are all scarred.  Some days it is easier to bear our own.  Some days it is harder to bear others.  We judge ourselves by others too often, not knowing what is below.  But would you like to see underneath?  Be warned, it is bloody under there.

2 responses to “International Burns Day

  1. Pingback: Nobody likes a smart arse « WWJCD?

  2. Pingback: Little Corellas … of Death!!! « I AM YOUR MATE JOE CHIP

I am interested in what you have to say:

