Toad on a Grecian Urn

There’s a toad on my urn

what’s it doing there?

Is it brushing its teeth,

or combing its hair?

 

There’s a toad on my urn,

how’d it get up there?

It had to jump high

up in the air.

 

I got that urn myself,

I stole it from Con.

I have to hide it away,

every time he comes round.

 

He got it from his mother,

before she died.

Don’t worry I checked,

there are no ashes inside.

 

The toad looks pretty fat,

I hope the urn doesn’t break.

If I have to steal another,

I feel sorry for Con’s sake.

 

‘Struth, that’s enough carry on,

that’s all you need to know.

My  urn is a beauty,

The toad only so-so.

Toads may be ugly, but who wants to be lonely.  An urn may be beautiful, but it will never hold you – at best it will only hold your ashes.  Toads on the other hand are always up for a cuddle.

2 responses to “Toad on a Grecian Urn

I am interested in what you have to say:

